Today I spoke to Nigel, one of my group partners who would arrange the artist and song. We spoke briefly on monday when he told that he would meet them that evening. As asked for a shorter version of the song and what their in put is about the song as well as the video. Today I got the debriefing of this meeting and I was quiet surprised. As I am not allowed to use their contend other than for the music video, I can not post it online for you to listen to. It’s a steady electric pop song which kind of gives off a 80’s or 90’s vibe.

Debriefing

The document contained the following:

Keywords: connected to the song: Traveling, adventure, discover dope shit in dope countries. (I quote this.)

Vibe: desperate, questioning, lost or searching.

Which does really fit well too the song as I experience the same kind of feelings and emotions. Might I add fear or panicking, even though the song sounds quiet up-beat.

There isn’t a lot of lyrics but the lines that are sung sum up what the keywords and vibe are:

All I see,
Are empty spaces.
Now it’s time to be,
What I deeply desire.

In short they described their song about no matter how much you search and want it you will always somehow end up in an empty void. And no matter how much you want it, you can’t really escape it either.

Now the next part sounds kind of scary as well as quiet exciting!

The band FARA can be seen as a live DJ act, but they will soon start their new album in China. This will also mean, that if we can make the video good and complete enough, it will be used for social media networks in China with around 180.000 followers.

So if we didn’t have already enough preassure time wise, this will now also be a really great checkmark to achieve.

As far as other input about the song:

The tittle of the song is Jungle and we can take this literally or figuratively. Also, and I quote “The what-the-fuck limit can be really high”, which leaves enough room to interpret the visuals we will make very abstract, weird and kinky! They also love color but also the very grimm and darker tones. This can be a good lead to the color pallet we will be able to use.

 

Next up will be some inspiration on the visual concept!

Leave a comment